Duane Grieve, FAIA
Executive DirectorDuane Grieve is the Executive Director of the East TN Community Design Center. Owner/architect of Grieve Associates Architects for 35 years, Duane was a member of Knoxville City Council from 2010 to 2018, including being Vice Mayor in 2017. Prior to that, he was a tenured UT Assistant Professor of Architecture and also served as an adjunct professor. Duane became a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects in 1997 for his service to the profession, which included: local and State AIA President, Gulf States Regional Director, National Treasurer, and Chairman of the AIA Trust. Duane received the Lifetime Achievement Award from AIA Tennessee in 2018. He has served in many volunteer capacities over the years, including ETCDC Board Chair in the early 1970’s. Currently, he serves on the Boards of Legacy Parks Foundation and the Knoxville History Project.
Jan Mosadegh
AdministratorMs. Jan Mosadegh is the Administrative Assistant for the Executive Director, and, along with financial accounting responsibilities assists the Director in an administrative capacity. Mosadegh focuses on the daily business activities including AR, AP and payroll. After graduating from the University of Tennessee in 1984 with a degree in Marketing, Mosadegh was the Communications Coordinator for the Tennessee Valley Fair for many years before becoming the Marketing Director for United Way of Blount County. Mosadegh has been with the Community Design Center since August, 1998.
J. Perry Childress
Design Studio Project CoordinatorMr. J. Perry Childress provides in-house technical support in design, planning, recreation, and facility development for the East Tennessee Community Design Center (ETCDC). A graduate of the University of Tennessee School of Architecture, he has been employed by ETCDC for over 30 years. Childress served on the National Park Service Elkmont project team as a designer and historic preservation specialist.
Dustin Durham
Design Studio CoordinatorMr. Dustin Durham is responsible for creating presentation graphics, the monthly newsletter, our social media posts, and maintaining this site. He also provides support for ETCDC events and assists the Design Studio Director in various other capacities. He received his Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Tennessee in 2014 and is actively involved with BikeWalk Knoxville. He is a passionate advocate for New Urbanist planning, beautiful buildings and public spaces, bike lanes, and fighting climate change. He has been with the Design Center since September 2017.
Cam Coppala
Membership Coordinator

Mr. Cameron Coppala is responsible for maintaining our donor database, writing member communications, and assisting with other member-related administrative duties.  Cam received his B.A. in Psychology and Linguistics from Emory University in 2016, followed by his M.S. in Speech-Language Pathology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2019. Originally from Charlotte, NC, Cam moved to Knoxville in 2020, working at several local businesses before joining the Design Center. Outside of work, Cam can usually be found petting his cat or working on his garden. Cam has been with the Design Center since October 2023.



Kristin Lee Grove

Carey Parker
1st Vice President

Nathaniel Shelso
2nd Vice President

Randy Merritt

Ross Goodman

Scott Busby, AIA
Immediate Past President


Kathryn G. Baldwin, AICP

Leslie Bateman

Ben Bentley

Patrick Brown, PLA, ASLA

Megan Chafin, AIA

Kristin Colwell

Jeremiah Corbett, AIA, NCARB, LEED

Courtney Cox, Esq.

Julie Dalby, NCIDQ, RID

Elizabeth Goodale

Nathan Hunter, PLA, LEED BD+C

Shana Love

Alli Montgomery, AIA

Sharon Moore

Maggie Morgan

Alison Oakes

Amy Taylor

Lizz Wetherall, NCIDQ, LEED GA


Kevin Dubose
City of Knoxville

Amy Brooks
Knoxville-Knox County Planning

Scottie McDaniel
UT College of
Architecture + Design


Mary Wells Holbrook

Douglas H. McCarty, FAIA

Gideon Fryer*

Dr. Joseph E. Johnson*

Bruce McCarty, FAIA*

John A. Walker, Jr. Esq.*

*in memoriam